Please login or register.

Forgot your password?
Advertisers
Members Online
5 Guests, 2 Users
johnboy,
Firlotte
+-Theme Select

Author Topic: An 11-step guide on importing a motorcycle from the USA  (Read 1108 times)

Offline Rhetorik

• 125cc MotoGP Wannabe
  • Trying to not become a statistic
An 11-step guide on importing a motorcycle from the USA
« on: April 16, 2010, 11:02:14 AM »
Alright, here’s what I’m hoping will be a straight-forward and easy to understand walkthrough of the steps involved with purchasing a bike from a dealership in the USA and importing it into Canada. The following is a synopsis of my experience buying a NEW bike from a dealership – I cannot comment on buying used or buying privately since I am not experienced in that, and do not know if the parameters are the same in those situations.

Introduction
Before you proceed any further, hop over to http://www.riv.ca and use their importer checklist. It will already make the whole process easier to understand. Also, one thing I would like to suggest: do everything sooner rather than later.

There are numerous write-ups like this that can be found around the net already. I found most of them to be deficient in some regard or another, and decided to try my own hand at making an easy-to-follow guide that answers a lot of the questions I’m guessing others are asking, since I was scratching my head over some things myself. This is not set in stone, and I will edit/modify the write-up as I deem to be necessary.

Step 1: Finding a Bike
Alright, first things first, you want to find a bike. As the market currently stands, it makes FAR more sense to purchase from the USA. The tool that I used to locate my current motorcycle (2009 zx6r) is the site linked below, which allows you to do brand-specific dealership searches specific to each state:

http://www.motorcycle.com/dealers/motorcycle-dealers.html

Step 2: Call the Dealership